atlatec technology

atlatec grew out of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and its innovation partner, the FZI Research Center for Information Technology. Both the university and the FZI have a strong background in computer vision – something that reflects in our approach to HD mapping technology until today.
atlatec_hdmaps_maps_technology_sensor_pods

The lean hardware footprint and use of low-cost, vehicle-independent sensor pods makes for easily deployable survey equipment that can be used on rental cars anywhere in the world.

Vehicle-independent sensor pods eliminate the need for purpose-built survey vehicles.

atlatec’s approach to 3D mapping relies mainly on stereo vision, using two front-facing cameras as the primary sensor. Our sensor pods place them 40 cm apart from each other, which makes for a self-contained, portable setup that is only about the size of a suitcase – without compromising on depth-image resolution.
Camera-based feature tracking and bundle adjustment allows for exceptional quality of trajectory recreation and spatial referencing, compensating for the larger part of IMU-related drift. Learn more about the accuracy we achieve here.

Group 7
Easy-to-use sensor equipment.

The atlatec sensor pod mounts on any vehicle rooftop within minutes. It's self-calibrating and easily operated via a connected tablet in the car, acting as a remote control. The tablet also doubles as a navigation system, instructing our drivers precisely on which lanes/turns to take. Use of a sensor pod requires zero engineering knowledge - anyone with a drivers license qualifies as a survey driver.

Created with Lunacy
Geographic flexibility.

Highways in the USA, urban routes in Europe or country roads in Japan: atlatec sensor pods can easily be deployed anywhere, typically travelling as regular airplane luggage with our drivers.

Our own navigation software specifically designed for survey driving maximizes routing optimization, lowering the total driving distance required to fully survey any given route.

Created with Lunacy
Highly scalable hardware concept.

The sensor pods are entirely self-contained, which makes for easy and quick deployment anywhere. All hardware used is low-cost, so if a box needs to undergo maintenance/upgrades, it can easily be replaced for the time.

The low cost also allows for low utilization: We can store sensor pods in strategic locations, keeping them available for updates on demand.

atlatec_hdmaps_maps_technology_stereo_camera

A look under the hood: atlatec sensor pods contain stereo cameras, an RTK-GNSS receiver and a motion sensor/IMU.

atlatec_hdmaps_cognata
Automated 3D model generation.

Our data processing pipeline takes care of GNSS correction, sensor fusion and loop closure, resulting a single, consistent 3D model for every route – with consistency in the sub-centimeter range.

Data processing is done in post-production on our servers in Karlsruhe, Germany and almost 100% automated.

Annotation à la carte.

Our proprietary annotation software is heavily optimized for our sensor setup and allows us to leverage AI for many tasks, such as identifying lane borders and inferring the topology of intersections. Human annotators manage quality control and more complex tasks. The degree of fidelity/object-richness depends on individual customer requirements.

annotate_atlatec_hd_map
atlatrack_atlatec_hdmap
Professional project management.

Our project management software "atlatrack" is purpose-built for mapping work: It allows us to efficiently manage a distributed workforce on projects of any size, reliably enforcing required quality control and feedback loops as well as managing interdependencies between tasks.

atlatec HD maps can be exported to a wide range of formats, depending on your use case.

See “Which map formats and tools does atlatec support?” for an overview of available formats.

Explore atlatec HD maps:
Download a free sample map

atlatec Technologie

atlatec entstand aus dem Umkreis des Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) und seinem Partner, dem FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik. Sowohl die Hochschule als auch das FZI haben einen starken Hintergrund in Sachen Computer Vision - eine Tatsache, die sich bis heute in unserem Ansatz zur HD-Kartierung widerspiegelt.
atlatec_hdmaps_maps_technology_sensor_pods

Geringer Hardware-/Platzbedarf und günstige, fahrzeugunabhängige “Sensor-Pods” ermöglichen einen flexiblen Einsatz unseres Systems zur Datenakquise auf Miet- und Leasingfahrzeugen weltweit.

Fahrzeugabhängige Sensor-Pods machen den Einsatz von Spezialfahrzeugen überflüssig.

atlatecs Ansatz zur 3D-Kartierung basiert hauptsächlich auf Stereo-Vision und nutzt zwei nach vorne gerichtete Kameras als zentralen Sensor. In unseren Pods sind die Kameras 40 cm voneinander entfernt montiert: Das Ergebnis ist ein eigenständiges, tragbares System ungefähr in der Größe eines Koffers - ohne, dass in Sachen Auflösung des Tiefenbildes Abstriche gemacht werden müssten.
Kamerabasiertes Feature-Tracking und Bündelausgleich ermöglichen außergewöhnlich hohe Genauigkeit bei der Rekonstruktion von Trajektorien und der räumlichen Referenzierung, was den Großteil des Abweichungsfehlers des Bewegungs-/Trägheitssensors kompensiert. Mehr über die Genauigkeit, die wir damit erreichen, erfahren Sie hier.

Group 7
Einfach zu verwendende Sensortechnik.

Der atlatec Sensor-Pod lässt sich innerhalb von Minuten auf jedem Fahrzeugdach montieren. Das System ist selbstkalibrierend und mittels einem Tablet oder Laptop im Fahrzeug leicht fernbedienbar. Das Tablet dient dem Fahrer auch als Navigationssystem - inklusive präziser Angaben, welche Spuren/Trajektorien zur Aufzeichnung zu fahren sind. Die Verwendung des Sensor-Pods erfordert keinerlei technische Vorkenntnisse - ein Führerschein ist die einzig nötige Qualifikation, um Datenakquise für atlatec vorzunehmen.

Created with Lunacy
Weltwelte Flexibilität.

Highways in den USA, städtische Strecken in Europa oder Landstraßen in Japan: atlatec Sensor-Pods lassen sich überall auf der Welt einfach nutzen - und als gewöhnliches Fluggepäck transportieren.

Unsere speziell für Kartierungsfahrten entwickelte Navigationssoftware sorgt für bestmögliche Routenoptimierung und hält so die insgesamt zu fahrende Distanz und Zeit für jede beliebige Route möglichst niedrig.

Created with Lunacy
Skalierbares Hardware-Konzept.

Unsere Sensor-Pods sind in sich abgeschlossen und eigenständig - was einen einfachen Einsatz fast überall möglich macht. Alle verwendete Hardware ist niedrigpreisig, was einen schnellen temporären Austausch für Wartungsarbeiten und Upgrades ermöglicht.

Niedrige Hardware-Kosten ermöglichen zudem eine niedrige Auslastung: Sensor-Pods können an strategischen gelagert werden, um bei Bedarf schnell für Karten-Updates zur Verfügung zu stehen.

atlatec_hdmaps_maps_technology_stereo_camera

Blick unter die Haube: atlatec Sensor-Pods bestehen aus Stereo-Kameras, einem RTK-GNSS-Empfänger und einem Bewegungssensor (IMU).

atlatec_hdmaps_cognata
Automatische 3D-Modellgenerierung.

Unsere Datenverarbeitungs-Pipeline automatisiert GNSS-Korrekturen, Sensor-Fusion und Loop-Closure. Das Resultat ist ein hochkonsistentes 3D-Modell für jede beliebige Route - mit Abweichungen im Sub-Zentimeter-Bereich.

Datenverarbeitung erfolgt nach der Datenakquise auf unseren Servern in Karlsruhe und ist nahezu 100% automatisiert.

Annotation à la carte.

Unsere eigenentwickelte Annotationssoftware ist für unser Sensoren-Setup optimiert und ermöglicht den Einsatz von KI in diversen Arbeitsschritten, etwa bei der Identifikation von Spurgrenzen und der Topologie von Kreuzungen. Menschliche Annotationskräfte übernehmen die Qualitätskontrolle und komplexere Arbeitsschritte. Der Grad der Reichhaltigkeit/Objektausstattung von HD-Karten hängt von individuellen Kundenanforderungen ab.

annotate_atlatec_hd_map
atlatrack_atlatec_hdmap
Professionelles Projektmanagement.

Unsere PM-Software “atlatrack” haben wir speziell für Kartierungsprojekte entwickelt: Sie ermöglicht das effiziente Management eines verteilten Teams in Projekten jeder Größe - und garantiert das Einhalten von Quality-Gates und Feedback-Loops genauso wie das korrekte Handling von Abhängigkeiten zwischen verschiedenen Arbeitsschritten.

atlatec HD-Karten können in verschiedene Datenformate exportiert werden - je nach Anforderung in Ihrem Anwendungsfall.

Einen Überblick unterstützer Dateiformate finden Sie unter “Welche Kartenformate und Tools unterstützt atlatec?”

atlatec HD-Karten entdecken:
Laden Sie unsere kostenlosen Sample-Karten herunter